## WEST BENGAL STATE ELECTION COMMISSION

18, Sarojini Naidu Sarani (Rawdon Street) Kolkata-700 017 Ph no. 2280-5805; FAX- 2280-7373 Toll Free No. 1800-345-5553

No. 2678-SEC/2B-7/2008

Dated. 22.08.2015

## ORDER:

In exercise of the powers conferred by rule 47 of the West Bengal Panchayat Election Rules, 2006, the State Election Commissioner, West Bengal State Election Commission hereby specifies that on every balloting unit of the voting machine, a ballot paper shall be displayed in the space meant thereof and shall contain the following particulars and be of the following design.

- 1. The total length of the ballot paper will be 460 mm and its width shall be 140 mm.
- 2. At the top, there shall be a space provided for indicating the particulars of the election and the name of the constituency, of the size 12.7 mm (length) x 140 mm (width).
- 3. In the space so provided, on the top left hand corner, the serial number of the ballot paper shall be printed. The Serial No. shall be in 4 digit running from 0001 in respect of each Gram Panchayat, in 5 digits running from 00001 in respect of each Panchayat Samiti Constituency and in 6 digit running from 000001 in respect of each Zilla / Mahakuma Parishad Constituency. On the top right hand corner, the sheet number shall be printed if the ballot paper is printed on more than one sheet, where the number of contesting candidates exceeds fifteen.
- 4. In addition to the serial number and the sheet number, if any, the particulars of the election shall also be printed in the said space. These particulars will contain the Serial Number & Name of the Panchayat Constituency (GP/PS/ZP), Year of Election, and Nature of Election, the legend "Genl" / "Bye" for General / Bye Elections as the case may be. Thus,
  - a) For Bye Election to Chakulia / XX-20 Gram Panchayat constituency of Goalpokher-II Block of Uttar Dinajpur District, the legend to be printed will be "Chakulia / XX-20.2015-Bye".
  - b) For Bye Election to Chopra / PS-22 Panchayat Samiti constituency of Chopra Block of Uttar Dinajpur District, the legend to be printed will be "Chopra / PS-22.2015-Bye".
  - c) For Bye Election to Keshpur / ZP-63 Zilla Parishad constituency of Keshpur Block of Pashchim Medinipur District, the legend to be printed will be "**Keshpur** / **ZP-63.2015-Bye**".
  - d) For General Election to Naxalbari/SMP-1 of Naxalbari Block under Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad in Darjeeling District, the legend to be printed will be "Naxalbari/SMP-1.2015-Genl".
- e) Below the space in which the particulars of the election are printed, there shall be a thick black line of 2.1 mm.
- f) Below this line, there shall be printed the serial number of each contesting candidate, his name and the symbol allotted to him, in a separate panel for each candidate.
- g) The size of the panel for each contesting candidate shall be 25.4 mm (length) x 140 mm (width).
- h) The panels of the candidates shall be separated from each other by a thick black line of 2.1 mm.

- i) The names of the contesting candidates shall be arranged on the ballot paper in the same order in which their names appear in the list of contesting candidates.
- j) The names of not more than fifteen candidates shall be arranged on one sheet of a ballot paper. If the number of contesting candidates is less than 15 (fifteen), the space below the panel for last contesting candidate shall be kept blank.
- k) Where the number of contesting candidates exceeds fifteen, the ballot paper shall be printed on two sheets of the above mentioned size and dimensions if the number of candidates is between sixteen and thirty, on three sheets if the number of contesting candidates is between thirty-one and forty-five and on four sheets if their number is between forty-six and sixty. In such cases where the ballot paper is printed on more than one sheet, the names of contesting candidates from S.No.16 to 30 shall be printed on the second sheet, from S.No.31 to 45 on the third sheet and so on. If the number of candidates is less than thirty, the space below the panel for the last contesting candidate in the second sheet shall be kept blank. Similarly, blank space should be provided in the third and fourth sheets of the ballot papers.
- 12. On the top of each such sheet, in the space provided for indicating the particulars of the election, its number shall be indicated in bold words and letters, e.g. 'Sheet No.1', 'Sheet No.2' etc.
- 13. The particulars of candidates in the ballot paper shall be printed in both Bengali and English language (The serial number of the candidate shall be indicated in the international form of Indian numerals.)
- 14. Serial number and the name of the candidate shall be printed on the left hand side and his symbol on the right hand side in the panel meant for him.
- 15. The ballot paper to be used for the purpose of voting by a voter on election duty shall be of the same design and contain the same particulars.
- 16. The tender ballot paper shall also be of the same design and shall be printed in the same language as the Ballot Paper to be used for display for the Ballot Unit. In other words, the Ballot Papers to be used on the Ballot Unit and the Tendered Ballot Papers shall be the same. However, the words "Tendered Ballot papers" shall be stamped on the back of each Ballot Paper to be used as Tendered Ballot Papers.
- 17. The length of ballot paper for ED and Tendered vote, where the number of Contesting Candidates is not more than 15(fifteen) shall be reduced upto the space as may be required for providing the panel for the last Contesting Candidates and below the said panel there shall be a thick black line of 2.1 mm.
- 18. All the remaining number of buttons below the last name of the Contesting Candidate of the Balloting Unit in respect of each Electronic Voting Machine will be kept in <u>Masked Condition</u>.
- 20. The ballot papers shall be printed on Cream Wove Paper of 3 different colors for each of the 3 tiers of Panchayat Election, i.e. White for Gram Panchayat, Pink for Panchayat Samiti and Yellow for Zilla / Mahakuma Parishad.

By Order of the State Election Commissioner, West Bengal State Election Commission

West Bengal State Election Commission

2 of 4

## No. 2678/2(50)-SEC/2B-7/2008

Date: 22.08.2015

Copy along with a copy of the sample ballot paper forwarded for information and necessary action to the:

- 1) District Panchayat Election Officer & District Magistrate, ......
- 2) Panchayat Returning Officer, .....

West Bengal State Election Commission

3 of 4

Sl. No. <u>00001</u> (In case of PS Constituency)	Chopra / PS-22.2015-Bye	Sheet No (if Needed)
1. ANIL BHUSHAN		
2. BABU ABRAHAM		
3. DILIP KUMAR		
4. FRANKAARON		T. T.
5. GOUTAM KUMAR		
6. HARJIT SINGH		***
7. MEENA ARORA		(IE)
8. NASEERULLA KHAN		

9. PRASAD RAO